Defected presents House Masters: Frankie Knuckles

Various Artists
In stock

When Frankie Knuckles sadly passed on 31 March 2014, he left behind perhaps the greatest house music legacy that ever was or ever will be, having built the genre’s foundations, and made dance music for nearly four decades. He established both his name and his legacy with the sound he created. Labelled ‘house’ after the Chicago club, The Warehouse, where he played during the late ‘70s and early ‘80s, it was a sound that has been copied and adapted by literally thousands of DJs and producers since.

House Masters: Frankie Knuckles is a project that began in February 2014, with Frankie hand-selecting the productions and remixes he wanted to include on a retrospective release of his illustrious career. The tracklist includes many of the most influential and highly-regarded records from the Grammy-winning producer, including ‘Tears’, ‘Your Love’, ‘The Whistle Song’ and ‘Baby Wants To Ride’ alongside seminal remixes for Alison Limerick, Inner City, Chaka Khan, Hercules & Love Affair, First Choice and Pet Shop Boys.

The passing of Frankie Knuckles may have left a gaping hole in many of our lives, but the music lives on.

100% of the profits from this release will be donated to the Frankie Knuckles Fund, established in partnership with the Elton John Aids Foundation.

Product code: HOMAS23CD

More Information
Pre-Order No
Release Date 27 Apr 2015
Artist Various Artists
Track List

Disc 1

  1. Frankie Knuckles featuring Jamie Principle ‘Your Love’
  2. Frankie Knuckles presents Satoshi Tomiie ‘Tears’ (Classic Vocal)
  3. Frankie Knuckles ‘The Whistle Song’ (Sound Factory Mix)
  4. Alison Limerick ‘Where Love Lives’ (Classic Mix)
  5. Hercules & Love Affair ‘Blind’ (Frankie Knuckles Remix)
  6. Frankie Knuckles featuring Roberta Gilliam ‘Workout’ (1992 Vocal Mix)
  7. Frankie Knuckles with Jamie Principle ‘Baby Wants To Ride’
  8. Andrea Mendez ‘Bring Me Love’ (Classic Frankie)
  9. Frankie Knuckles ‎’Only The Strong Survive’ (Club Mix)
  10. Frankie Knuckles ‘It's Hard Sometime’ (FK Classic Club)
  11. Adeva ‘Beautiful Love’ (Extended)

Disc 2

  1. Inner City ‘Whatcha Gonna Do With My Lovin'’ (Def Mix)
  2. Sounds Of Blackness ‘The Pressure’ (Frankie Knuckles Classic Mix)
  3. The Nightwriters ‘Let the Music Use You’ (Club Mix)
  4. First Choice ‘Let No Man Put Asunder’ (12" Frankie Knuckles Remix)
  5. Frankie Knuckles ‎’Rain Falls’ (FK Original)
  6. Rufus & Chaka Khan ‘Ain’t Nobody’ (Hallucinogenic Version)
  7. Loose Ends ‘Hangin’ On A String’ (Frankie Knuckles Club Mix)
  8. Frankie Knuckles featuring Adeva ‘Too Many Fish’ (Classic Frankie Version)
  9. Lisa Stansfield ‘Change’ (Knuckles Mix)
  10. Pet Shop Boys ‘Left To My Own Devices’ (Frankie Knuckles Royal Piano Version)
  11. Frankie Knuckles presents Director's Cut featuring Jamie Principle ‘I’ll Take You There’ (Director’s Cut Classic Signature Mix)

Worldwide Shipping Available

If for any reason we fail to meet your expectations, you may return or exchange your items within 14 days of receipt of your order.

Please ensure the goods are returned with sales tags and packaging to; 3a Quadrant Courtyard, Quadrant Way, Weybridge, Surrey, KT13 8DR.

Please note that if you require an exchange, we will ask you to pay for the return postage and we will contact you via email to arrange payment. Thank you.

Add our Defected app to home screen: tap and then Add to home screen