Glitterbox - A Disco Hï - 3 x CD

Various Artists (Mixed by Simon Dunmore)
In stock

Download & Stream

‘Glitterbox - A Disco Hï’ marks the summer residency of Ibiza’s most flamboyant party at the island’s brand new club, Hï Ibiza. Summer 2017 will see Glitterbox returning to its spiritual home to break in this new hotspot on the island, the perfect destination for one of the world’s most sensational parties. Capturing the hedonism of the Glitterbox extravaganza, the album is spread over three mixes by founder and label boss Simon Dunmore, nuanced with all-time house classics, euphoric disco standards and electro-funk rarities.

‘Glitterbox – A Disco Hï’ documents the progression of soul into disco into house, getting to the very essence of ‘dance music’ in its truest sense; music which moves your body and your soul. The standout tracks are the ones which capture a universal spirit, with iconic grooves that have been creatively revisited again and again. Records like ‘Looking Up To You’ by Michael Wycoff, which was sampled over a decade later by Zhane on their 90s classic ‘Hey Mr. D.J.’, lends its impossibly smooth soul vibe to the album and Harvey Mason’s ‘Groovin’ You’ (which heavily influenced Gusto on ‘Disco’s Revenge’ in 1995) funks things up.

More musical lightbulb moments come in the form of Angie Stone’s iconic heartbreak anthem ‘Wish I Didn’t Miss You’, a throwback to O’Jays’ track ‘Back Stabbers’ from one of the most influential and prolific labels during the heyday of soul and disco, Philadelphia International Records. Another golden moment from that label is ‘You Can’t Hide From Yourself’, a firm favourite with Glitterbox crowds from Teddy Pendergrass, giving another subtle nod to this golden era of dance music.

Product code: DGLIB07CD

More Information
Pre-Order No
Release Date 9 Jun 2017
Artist Various Artists (Mixed by Simon Dunmore)
Track List

Disc 1

  1. Michael Wycoff ‘Looking Up To You’
  2. Billy Ocean ‘Nights (Feel Like Gettin' Down)’ + Apartment 52 featuring Blak Beat Niks ‘All That I Know’ (Accapella)
  3. Evelyn “Champagne” King ‘I'm In Love’ (12" Version)
  4. ATFC featuring Lisa Millett ‘Bad Habit’ (Dr Packer Remix)
  5. LaTrece ‘I Want To Thank You’ (MK Downtown Mix)
  6. Tensnake ‘Coma Cat’
  7. Mousse T. & Lovebirds ‘Do Anything’ + Kings Of Tomorrow ‘Let Me Tell You Something’ (Sandy Rivera & C. Castel’s Accapella)
  8. The Ritchie Family ‘I'll Do My Best (For You Baby)’
  9. G.Q. ‘Disco Nights (Rock Freak)’
  10. Eddie Amador ‘House Music’ (Message Mix)
  11. Steve ‘Silk’ Hurley featuring Sharon Pass ‘The Word Is Love’
  12. Memoryman (aka Uovo) ‘Dance Track’
  13. The Believers ‘Who Dares To Believe In Me?’ (Original Mix)
  14. Alison Limerick ‘Where Love Lives’ (Classic Mix)
  15. Soulsearcher ‘Can’t Get Enough!’ (Dr Packer Remix)
  16. Angie Stone ‘Wish I Didn't Miss You’

Disc 2

  1. Michelle Weeks ‘The Light’ (Jamie Lewis Original Mix)
  2. Jon Cutler featuring E-Man ‘It’s Yours’ (Original Distant Music Mix)
  3. Candi Staton ‘Hallelujah Anyway’ (Original)
  4. Marques Wyatt ‘For Those Who Like to Get Down’ (DEEP Sunday Retro Vibe Mix)
  5. Demuir ‘Derrick, Body Movin’’ (Third Stanza)
  6. Kathy Brown ‘Get Another Love’ (Dr Packer Remix)
  7. Harvey Mason ‘Groovin' You’ (12" Version)
  8. DJ Yellow ‘Ride The Rhythm’ (Ian Pooley Remix) + Skwerl ‘All Woman’ (Tool)
  9. Stoned Butterflies ‘Symphony Orchestra’
  10. Claudja Barry ‘Sweet Dynamite’ (Todd Terje Edit) + Roland Clark ‘The First Time’ (Accapella)
  11. Aeroplane featuring Tawatha Agee ‘Love On Hold’ (Dimitri From Paris DJ Friendly Re-Touch)
  12. Alaia & Gallo featuring Kevin Haden ‘Who Is He?’ (Claptone Remix)
  13. Ashford & Simpson ‘Bourgie Bourgie’ (Joe Claussell's Classic Remix) + Cevin Fisher ‘Music Saved My Life’ (Accapella)
  14. Teddy Pendergrass ‘You Can't Hide from Yourself’
  15. Black Ivory ‘Mainline’
  16. Blaze featuring Palmer Brown ‘Do You Remember House?’ (Bob Sinclar Club Mix)
  17. Kathy Sledge ‘Take Me Back to Love Again’ (Roger's Favorite Mix)
  18. M People ‘Moving On Up’ (Roger S. Moving Mix)

Disc 3

  1. Armand Van Helden featuring Duane Harden ‘You Don't Know Me’
  2. MD X-Spress ‘God Made Me Phunky’ (Original Mix)
  3. Byron Stingily ‘Get Up (Everybody)’ (Mousse T.'s Extended Mix)
  4. Todd Terry ‘Jumpin'’ (Tee's Freeze Mix)
  5. Cleptomaniacs featuring Bryan Chambers ‘All I Do’ (Dr Packer Remix)
  6. Instant Exposure ‘I Need A Little More’ (Original Victor Simonelli Club Mix)
  7. Class Action ‘Weekend’ (Larry Levan Weekend Mix)
  8. Ralphi Rosario featuring Xavier Gold ‘You Used To Hold Me’ (Mucho Michie House Mix)
  9. Chez Damier ‘Can You Feel It’ (Steve Bug Re-Dub)
  10. Copyright featuring Song Williamson ‘He Is’ (Ferrer & Sydenham Inc Vox Mix)
  11. Kim English ‘Supernatural’ (Mousse T.’s Raw Vocal Mix)
  12. FCL ‘It’s You’ (Mousse T.’s Teef Vocal Mix)
  13. Hercules & Love Affair ‘Do You Feel The Same?’
  14. Africanism & Liquid People ‘Love Is The Answer’
  15. Hifi Sean featuring Crystal Waters ‘Testify’ (Sandy Rivera Main Mix)
  16. Oliver Dollar & Jimi Jules ‘Pushing On’
  17. The Shapeshifters ‘Lola’s Theme Recut’ (Dr Packer Remix)

Royal Mail Standard Delivery – from £4.50
Courier Tracked Delivery – available for parcels over 2kgs

Royal Mail Tracked Delivery – from £6.99
Courier Tracked Delivery – available for parcels over 2kgs

Royal Mail Tracked Delivery – from £11.99
Courier Tracked Delivery – available for parcels over 2kgs

Please note all shipping prices are calculated upon the weight of the basket at checkout.

If for any reason we fail to meet your expectations, you may return or exchange your items within 14 days of receipt of your order.

Please ensure the goods are returned with sales tags and packaging to; 3a Quadrant Courtyard, Quadrant Way, Weybridge, Surrey, KT13 8DR.

Please note that if you require an exchange, we will ask you to pay for the return postage and we will contact you via email to arrange payment. Thank you.

Add our Defected app to home screen: tap and then Add to home screen