Marshall Jefferson
Defected presents House Masters - Marshall Jefferson

Defected welcomes one of Chicago house’s founding fathers Marshall Jefferson into the illustrious list of House Masters. An artist that has successfully navigated major cross-over success while retaining utmost respect from the inner circle of electronic music’s underground, Marshall has been behind countless seminal records over his five-decade career. Now this retrospective compilation showcases the impressive and vast output of this house pioneer, ranging from his most well-known solo records, to major production credits, key remixes and the underground gems still favoured by selectors today.

Cutting his teeth as a producer for Chicago’s Universal Recording Studios, Marshall was one of the most active DJ and producers on the Windy City’s music scene during the 1980’s house music boom. Working under a plethora of aliases such as Virgo, Jungle Wonz, Truth and On The House, as well as producing for names such as CeCe Rogers, Curtis McClain and Evelyn "Champagne" King, the compilation opens with what is arguably Marshall’s most famous record, ‘Move Your Body’. The first recorded house track to use piano, it has remained a staple of dancefloors across the globe, with Solardo and Marshall’s rework (as heard on the compilation) only further cementing its legacy.

A bona fide house music luminary, ‘Defected presents House Masters - Marshall Jefferson is an all-encompassing guide to his tremendous career. A trailblazer and genre-defining artist, Defected is honoured to welcome Marshall into the House Masters Hall of Fame with this very special compilation.


  Track Artist
Move Your Body (Extended Mix)
Marshall Jefferson x Solardo
Devotion (Club Mix)
Ten City
Someday (Club Mix)
CeCe Rogers
It's Alright (House Mix)
Sterling Void & Paris Brightledge
I Can't Stay Away (Power-Pella)
Ragtyme featuring Byron Stingily
Useless (House Mix)
Kym Mazelle
Pleasure Control (Long)
On The House
7 Ways (Vocal)
R U Hot Enough (Re-Vision)
Taste My Love (Tasty Club Mix)
House To House featuring Kym Mazelle
Ride The Rhythm
Curtis McClain
Time Marches On (Re Vision)
Jungle Wonz
Do The Do (Do The House)
Marshall Jefferson presents Dancing Flutes
That's The Way Love Is (Underground Mix-Extended Version)
Ten City
I'm A Lover
Kym Mazelle
Raindance (Marshall Jefferson & Joey Negro Mix)
Marshall Jefferson presents Ragtyme
The Jungle (Re-Vision)
Jungle Wonz
Marshall Jefferson
We Are Unity (Miller Mix)
Marshall Jefferson presents Umosia
Needs (Not Wants)
Mood Life
Love Don't Let Me Down (Primal Auto Soul Mix)
Open Our Eyes (Celestial Mix)
Marshall Jefferson presents Truth
Not Gonna Do It (Marshall Jefferson Dub)
Vicky Martin
Love Is Just A Game (Extended Mix)
Ten City
Sirènes (Marshall Jefferson Remix)
System 7
Rock Me (The Marshall Jefferson Deep Underground Dub)
Screamin' Rachael
Love Gets Stronger
Marshall Jefferson
Mushrooms (Salt City Orchestra Out There Mix)
Marshall Jefferson vs Noosa Heads
Marshall Jefferson
I've Lost Control (Re Vision)
Sleezy D.
The Original Video Clash (Re Vision)
The Cow (Is Already Waiting)
Marshall Jefferson
Satisfaction (Marshall Jefferson Mix)
Curtis McClain
Far Behind (Extended Club Mix)
Marshall Jefferson & Keith Thompson present Idle + Wild
Step By Step (Marshall's Main Mix)
Marshall Jefferson featuring Curtis McClain
Spread A Little Love
Richard Rogers
Music (Club Mix)
Reggie Hall
Day To Day (Dance Mix)
Evelyn "Champagne" King
Can't Stop Loving You (Steppin' Mix)
Richard Rogers
Curtis McClain

Listen to our
Latest Releases

Ferreck Dawn & GUZ. 05/07/24
HUGEL. 28/06/24
BLOND:ISH x KeeQ feat. Chloe Paige. 27/06/24
Intruder (A Murk Production) feat. Jei. 21/06/24
YOURS. 19/06/24
Oden & Fatzo x Poppy Baskcomb. 14/06/24
Johnny Corporate. 07/06/24
Nick Curly. 31/05/24

Stay connected to defected

Download the new defected app for 24/7 radio, priority event news and tickets, exclusive content & more

Open App